Wrong monitor

Help for your technical issues with Slime Rancher

Wrong monitor

Postby LoneLynx » Sat Feb 13, 2016 6:27 am

I have played the game for 20 hours and it was all fine but today when i start the game it's on my second monitor. I can't find a way to move it to my primary monitor. A fix so it starts on my primary monitor or a way to move it would be enough.
LoneLynx
Plort
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2016 6:06 am

Re: Wrong monitor

Postby Heather » Sat Feb 13, 2016 7:34 am

Can you please tell us more about your system specs and which OS you're running?
Thanks!
User avatar
Heather
Admin
 
Posts: 872
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 5:48 pm

Re: Wrong monitor

Postby ADragonInAPieCostume » Sat Feb 13, 2016 2:16 pm

open C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Slime Rancher\SlimeRancher_Data\prefs with a text editor, <pref name="UnitySelectMonitor" type="int">[number here]</pref>
edit that number to one lower (i.e. if its 2 than 1) or if its 0 set it to 1
im not a windows user so im just guessing, you could try putting it in windowed mode and moving it lol
i accept hugs as a thank you, im here to try and help
User avatar
ADragonInAPieCostume
Rancher
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 5:34 pm
Location: canadia

Re: Wrong monitor

Postby LoneLynx » Sat Feb 13, 2016 3:22 pm

ADragonInAPieCostume wrote:open C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Slime Rancher\SlimeRancher_Data\prefs with a text editor, <pref name="UnitySelectMonitor" type="int">[number here]</pref>
edit that number to one lower (i.e. if its 2 than 1) or if its 0 set it to 1
im not a windows user so im just guessing, you could try putting it in windowed mode and moving it lol


I dont have a prefs file though.
It goes back to my second monitor even if i move it when i fullscreen.
LoneLynx
Plort
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2016 6:06 am

Re: Wrong monitor

Postby ADragonInAPieCostume » Sat Feb 13, 2016 6:07 pm

LoneLynx wrote:
ADragonInAPieCostume wrote:open C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Slime Rancher\SlimeRancher_Data\prefs with a text editor, <pref name="UnitySelectMonitor" type="int">[number here]</pref>
edit that number to one lower (i.e. if its 2 than 1) or if its 0 set it to 1
im not a windows user so im just guessing, you could try putting it in windowed mode and moving it lol


I dont have a prefs file though.
It goes back to my second monitor even if i move it when i fullscreen.

pm me, ill try and help
i accept hugs as a thank you, im here to try and help
User avatar
ADragonInAPieCostume
Rancher
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 5:34 pm
Location: canadia

Re: Wrong monitor

Postby Wonda » Sat Feb 13, 2016 8:38 pm

May I suggest pressing SHIFT+WINDOWS+LEFT? I can't currently test it, but I think that may help.
Three in a row, tic tac tarr!
User avatar
Wonda
Rancher
 
Posts: 239
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2016 5:52 pm
Location: Somewhere...

Re: Wrong monitor

Postby Heather » Sun Feb 14, 2016 7:57 am

We're looking in to this.... can you please give us an exact timeline of when this issue first occurred?
And can you please confirm you're using Steam?

Thank you!
User avatar
Heather
Admin
 
Posts: 872
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 5:48 pm

Re: Wrong monitor

Postby Heather » Sun Feb 14, 2016 11:13 am

Thanks!
Curious to know the OP's answers?
Heather wrote:We're looking in to this.... can you please give us an exact timeline of when this issue first occurred?
And can you please confirm you're using Steam?

Thank you!
User avatar
Heather
Admin
 
Posts: 872
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 5:48 pm

Re: Wrong monitor

Postby Dogrock » Sun Feb 14, 2016 5:00 pm

Hi there,

I'm also poking at this myself with a mismatched pair of screens. I think some of the behavior may be OS dependent. Here's what I found can "lock" the game to start to a specific screen when using Windows 8.1.

1) Launch the game windowed.
2) Drag the game to the desired screen.
3) Set the game to fullscreen on the desired screen. Accept the changes.
4) Close the options menu and then quit the game. It seems that if the game is closed with the options menu up the video settings changes changes aren't properly saved!
5) Start the game, it should now open on your desired screen.

At this point if you like playing the game windowed it's safe to set it back. You may need to repeat these steps to "lock" the game to a different screen.
User avatar
Dogrock
Chickadoo
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2015 9:36 am


Return to Technical Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron